icon for Home page
icon for Kid's Home page
icon for Digital Collection
icon for Activities
icon for Turns Exhibit
icon for In the Classroom
icon for Chronologies
icon for My Collection

Online Collection

The following gentlemen are chosen Delegates to the State Convention, viz.

Charleston, Hon. Nathaniel Gorham, Esq.
Milton, Rev. Nathaniel Robbins.
Braintree, Hon. Richard Cranch, Esq. and Rev. Anthony Wibert.
Andover, Capt. Peter Osgood, Dr. Kitteridge, ----Symmes, Esq.
Ipswich, Michael Farley, Esq. John Choate, Esq. Daniel Noyes, Esq. Jonathan Cogswell, Esq.
Newbury, Hon. Tristram Dalton, Esq. Enoch Sawyer, and Ebenezer Marsh, Esq’rs.
Falmouth, Major Daniel Isley, and General John K. Smith---The town of Falmouth consents to accept the new constitution, with amendments.
Scituate, Hon. William Cushing, Nathan Cushing, and Charles Turner, Esq’rs.
Newbury-Port, Hon. B. Greenleaf, Esq. Theophilus Parsons, Esq. Hon. Jonathan Titcomb, Esq. Hon. Rufus King, Esq.
Pembroke, Mr. John Turner, and Mr. Josiah Smith.
Barnstable, Shearjashub Bourn, esq. Mr. Martin.
Stoughton, Elijah Dunbar, esq. and Mr. Southrick.
Norton, Hon. Abraham White.
Taunton, Brigadier James Williams.
Dighton, Hon. William Baylies, esq. and Col. Sylvanus Richmond.
Raynham, Israel Washburn, esq.
Berkley, Samuel Toby, esq.
Attleborough, Hon. Elisha May, esq. and Capt. Willmarsh
Haverhill, Bayley Bartlet, esq. and Mr. Nathaniel Marsh.
Lancaster, Joseph Sprague, esq.
Worcester, Samuel Curtis, esq. and Mr. David Bigelow.
Petersham, Jonathan Grout, esq. and Mr. Samuel Peckham.
Holden, Mr. Davis, formerly minister of that town.
Boylston, Mr. Jonas Temple.
Grafton, Dr. Wood.
Princeton, Mr. Timothy Fuller.
Shrewsbury, Capt. Isaac Harrington.
Springfield, William Pynchon, esq.
Hadley, Elisha Porter, Esq.
Chesterfield, Col. Benjamin Bonney.
Bernardston, Capt. Agrippa Wells.
Amherst, Mr. Daniel Cooley.
Belchertown, Mr. Justus Dwight.
Greenfield, Mr. Baskum.
Colrain, Mr. Eddy.
Hatfield, Hon. John Hastings, esq.
Whately, Mr. Josiah Allis.
Deerfield, Mr. Samuel Field.
Southampton, Capt. Lemuel Pomeroy.
Westfield, John Ingersoll, esq. and John Phelps, esq.
Worthington, Nahum Eagur, esq.
Williamsburgh, Mr. William Bodman.
Sunderland, Capt. Crocker.
Montague, Mr. Severence.

(c) Pocumtuck Valley Memorial Association, Deerfield MA. All rights reserved.
Contact us for information about using this image.

label levels:

There is currently no available "Beginner" label. The following is the default level label: This is a list of some of the delegates from various towns to the State Convention for ratification of the new Federal Constitution. There were a total of 355 delegates, so this is a small part of the total. Prominent men from the Connecticut River Valley included Elisha Porter, William Pynchon, and Lemuel Pomeroy.


top of page

Delegates to the State Convention article published in the Hampshire Gazette

publisher   Hampshire Gazette
date   Dec 12, 1787
location   Northampton, Massachusetts
height   9.25"
width   3.0"
process/materials   printed paper, ink
accession #   #L04.104

Look Closer icon My Collection icon Document Image icon Detailed info icon

ecard icon Send an e-Postcard of this object

See Also...

Votes of counties at the Massachusetts State Convention article published in the Hampshire Gazette

"Ratification of the Federal Constitution by Massachusetts" published in the Hampshire Gazette

Editorial "To the Public" on the Constitution published in the Hampshire Gazette

button for Side by Side Viewingbutton for Glossarybutton for Printing Helpbutton for How to Read Old Documents


Home | Online Collection | Things To Do | Turns Exhibit | Classroom | Chronologies | My Collection
About This Site | Site Index | Site Search | Feedback